Over 2,000 people have already registered for classes on medical marijuana licenses in the state of Michigan. Due to the overwhelming number of registries, the state has added another class and moved one to a bigger venue.
The classes set by the state are designed to inform and educate individuals and entities who want to gain entry into the medical marijuana business about the application process that Michigan will initiate on December 15th.
Five license categories are to be designated by the Michigan state Medical Marijuana Licensing Board namely for growers, processors, testing facilities, secure transporters and dispensaries. The state is due to roll out said licenses in the early part of 2018.
The issuance of licenses is part of the state’s efforts to tax and regulate the state’s medical marijuana industry which is poised to produce an estimated $21 million in state tax revenue, and give the state cannabis industry $177 million in sales.
Permission to operate
If you’re planning to open a cannabis business in the state, the law dictates that you need a two-part permission and approval: first from the city where you intend to operate and from the state.
Each class is going to take three hours and to follow the following schedules:
- Nov. 8, 9 a.m.: Suburban Collection Showplace, 46100 Grand River Avenue, Novi;
- Nov. 9, 9 a.m.: Saginaw Valley State University, 7400 Bay Road, University Center;
- Nov. 13, 9 a.m.: Great Wolf Lodge, 3575 North U.S. 31, Traverse City;
- Nov. 14, 9 a.m.: Wing’s Conference Center, 3600 Vanrick Drive, Kalamazoo;
- Nov. 15, two sessions 9 a.m. and 1 p.m.: Kellogg Conference Center, 219 South Harrison Road, East Lansing
If you can’t attend in person, you may stream the November 15, 9 am class on the state’s website at www.michigan.gov/medicalmarihuana.
To officially register to the sessions online, you may head over to www.metrc.com/michigan.